Batman v Superman; I Wish I Could Like It.

So, it’s over a year since Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice was unveiled to the world. I was there on Good Friday, taking in the first (mini)iMAX 3D screening in a more or less packed out theatre. I was excited but apprehensive. I wasn’t blown away by Man of Steel, although it has improved on further watches, and despite my excitement to see Batman and Superman slugging it out, I thought it was too soon in the revived DCCU to bring together their two heavyweights.

I was laughing when I left the cinema. I think I was confused more than anything. What the Hell had I just watched? Seriously, most of the third act was a loud blur. It started off with so much promise. I was taken aback by how the film opened, (yet another mini death of the Waynes scene,) but then Bruce heading to Metropolis was a creative, surprising, and stunning way of bringing us in to his world.
It quickly went downhill from there.
The constant bad decisions made by major characters in this film were more akin to the black comedy stylings of the Coens. It was baffling why people were doing the things they did, and it continued throughout the whole film. I guess it was just the characters echoing the film-makers. It was a mess of ‘you know what would be cool?’ ideas straight off the storyboard.

12 Months and a further two watches Later 

I wanted to like this film. Yeah, I’m mainly a Marvel fanboy, but please don’t think that I wanted this to be bad. I paid to see BvS at the cinema, and when the Ultimate Edition was released, I bought it,  the hope inside wanted the broken film to be fixed. I have since watched the Ultimate Edition twice and where it DOES fix plot holes and logic issues, the film is an even longer, boring, car-crash-I-WANT-to-look-away-from, mess.
Seriously, 3 hours. THREE FUCKING HOURS and still no sign of an entertaining superhero film. Why is more time needed to make these characters exciting and enthralling? We know who these people are, previous incarnations or not, we are invested in these characters. Why try to make us dislike them??
Don’t get me started on the ‘Martha…’ debacle. Seriously, did the Hollyoaks writing staff pen this film?

I’ve given it three chances. Nearly nine hours of my life, and if anything, I’m disliking it more.

I’m glad people can find joy in it, I really am. I just wish I could.

tFMDtM35rm4V2

Leave a Reply

